Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

  1. What should I know before financing my new home?
  2. What about refinancing my existing property?
  3. Tell me about lines of credit and home equity loans?
  4. When should we refinance?
  5. What are points and must I pay them?  Tell me about Zero Point/Zero Fee loans.
  6. What does a credit score (FICO) tell the lender about me?



1. What should I know before financing my new home?

For most people, buying a home will be the biggest investment of their life. The process is amazingly complex and demands a considerable planning and preparation before starting your course.  Take a look at some ordinary tasks you will and issues you will have to address as you proceed.  Though certainly not all inclusive, our list of caveats will help your home buying experience more efficient and less cumbersome.

Purchasing a home

       1.      Don’t begin your home search before getting pre-approved with a lender. Your chances for success in having your offer accepted will dramatically increase if you have been pre-approved before the offer is made.  As a potential buyer you will be asking the seller to take his property of the market for several weeks while your loan is “in process”.  Remember, you will most likely be a complete stranger to the seller and multiple offers will be coming in.  From the seller’s prospective, all potential buyers are competing for his property.  Who do you think the seller will be more likely to consider seriously, a buyer who is: 

Neither pre-qualified nor pre-approved.  Here the buyer is quite literally shopping blind.  He has done little research to determine what price house he can actually afford and usually does not know about the lending options which may be available to him.  How serious a buyer would you consider this person to be?

Pre-qualified.  In this instance, the buyer has met with a lending professional (broker or lender) to determine how much house he can buy and whether the proposed purchase is appropriate for his needs . The buyer financial records have been scrutinized and credit history reviewed so that the lender can issue a letter suggesting a loan amount the buyer can handle.

 

Pre-approved.  Documentation of this buyer’s financial records, including income, expenses, assets, liabilities and credit have all been verified by the lender.  Consequently, much of the loan process has already been completed.  If your property’s valuation checks out and title insurance can be obtained the deal is all but guaranteed to close quickly!  The buyer shows up with a pre-approval certificate demonstrating that he has done his lending diligence and has been just about as thorough as he could be in determining his ability to buy the desired property.

 

  1. Remember that written contracts supercede verbal agreements.  Do not sign a document containing instructions that are contrary to your verbal agreements.  Oral agreements are seldom enforceable and most states require all agreed upon terms for the be in writing. For example, the seller may have verbally agreed to pay all your closing costs or give you a landscaping allowance.  This must be written in the contract since there is otherwise no tangible proof that such promises were made.  Written contracts always win!

 

  1. Don’t choose a lender based solely on lowest rate. The rate is not the only feature of importance.  Consider the total cost of your loan including the APR, loan fees, discount and origination points. Insist that the discount points (charged by the lender to reduce the interest rate) be distinguished from origination points (charged for services rendered in originating the loan) when receiving a quote from a lender or broker.

    In addition to your cost considerations, gain confidence that the company you select is reputable and will deliver the loan with the terms and costs they promised.  Interview prospective mortgage companies.  Ask family and friends for referrals.

 

  1. Have the broker prepare a Good Faith Estimate.  You must receive a written statement of fees associated with the transaction within three business days after the broker or lender receives your loan application. This is the law.  It’s also the best way to determine what you'll pay for your loan. If you remember to bring the Good Faith Estimate (GFE) with you when you sign loan documents, you can protect yourself against  paying fees which are substantially different from those quoted on your GFE.

 

  1. Get your rate lock in writing.   Get a written statement detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and program details once the mortgage company tells you they have locked your rate

 

  1. Be cautious of “dual agency” transactions.  Buyers and sellers have opposing interests. Sellers want to receive the highest price possible, while buyers want to pay the lowest price. As a buyer, you're better off having an agent representing you exclusively. In the standard real estate transaction, the seller pays the real estate commission. When an agent represents both buyer and seller, the agent can tend to negotiate more vigorously on behalf of the seller.  The only time you should consider a dual agent is when you get a price break. When this happens, proceed with caution and do your homework!

 

  1. Get professional inspections before you buy. It's highly recommended that you get property, roof and termite inspections unless you're buying a new home with warranties on most equipment. When a professional inspector recommends that certain repairs be done, the seller is more likely to agree to do them. Inspection reports are great negotiating tools when asking the seller to make needed repairs and when negotiating price.

    At close of escrow do not assume that everything was done as promised.  Have your inspector verify that all the repairs the seller agreed to make are indeed done.

 

  1. Shop for home insurance early.  Start shopping for insurance as soon as you have an accepted offer. Many buyers wait until the last minute to get insurance and do not have time to shop around.

 

  1. Review the closing  documents you'll be signing in advance. Even though some of the specifics of your transaction may not be known early in the transaction,  the documents you'll sign are standard forms and are available for review.  It's unlikely that you'll have sufficient time to read all the documents during the closing appointment.  Reading the documents in advance will insure that you have time to mull over them and get any questions answered that might come up.

 

  1. Be patient -- allow for delays in your transaction.  Real estate transactions are often delayed a week or more.  Wait to terminate your lease one week after your real estate transaction is scheduled to close. That way, if there is a delay in closing your transaction, you have some leeway. This approach might cost a little more, then again, it might not.

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2. What about refinancing my existing property?

 

There are some very specific premises that you must consider when refinancing your existing mortgage.  Read through these items for added confidence that you are making the prudent choice when you refinance.

  1. Don’t assume that your existing lender will be easiest to refinance with.  There is a general misconception that it is easier to work with your current lender. Your current lender will usually require the same documentation as other companies. This is because most loans are sold on the secondary market and have to be approved independently. Even if you have made all your mortgage payments on time, your existing lender will still need to verify your employment and financial history all over again.  Furthermore, your current lender may not have the best rates and terms.  Check around before you proceed with the refinance application.
  2. Do a break-even analysis.  Calculate how much you will save every month by dividing the total cost by the monthly savings to determine the number of months you will have to stay in the property to break even. Example: if your closing costs are $3600 and you save $120/month, you will break even in 3600/120 = 30 months. Using this scenario, you would want to refinance if you are planning to stay in your home for at least 30 months.
  3. Get a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.   You must receive a written statement of fees associated with the transaction within three business days after the broker or lender receives your loan application. This is the law.  It’s also the best way to determine what you'll pay for your loan. If you remember to bring the Good Faith Estimate (GFE) with you when you sign loan documents, you can protect yourself against  paying fees which are substantially different from those quoted on your GFE.
  4. Ask for a desk review before a full appraisal is ordered if you think your home value may be too low.  The mortgage company’s appraiser can prepare a desk review to provide you with a range of possible values. If you are doubtful about the value of your home don’t waste your money on a full appraisal.
  5. The county tax-assessor's value is not the market value of your home.  The market-value appraisal  ordered by your mortgage company may be very different from the assessed value.  It is the appraisers best estimate of value that will be used to determine the amount of your loan.  Don’t assume that the two values will be the same!
  6. Review the closing  documents you'll be signing in advance. Even though some of the specifics of your transaction may not be known early in the transaction, the documents you'll sign are standard forms and are available for review.   Reading the documents in advance will insure that you have time to mull over them and get any questions answered that might come up.
  7. Be sure to provide all the documents your mortgage company requests in a timely manner.   Provide the additional documents your mortgage company asks you for immediately. They are doing what's necessary to get your loan approved and closed. Delays in providing documents can be costly.
  8. Get your rate lock in writing.   Get a written statement detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and program details once the mortgage company tells you they have locked your rate
  9. Check with your lender before you apply for a second mortgage.  Combined loan amounts (i.e., the first loan plus the second) are of great concern when refinancing the first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing your first loan, be sure to find out if getting a second will cause the refinance of your first mortgage to be denied.

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3. Tell me about lines of credit and home equity loans?

  1. Will your loan have a pre-payment penalty clause?  Considerable pre-payment penalties usually accompany a "NO FEE" home-equity loan. If you are planning to sell or refinance in the next three to five years you will want to avoid such a loan.
  2. Keep your credit line reasonable. When your credit line is too large, you can be turned down for other loans because some lenders calculate your payments based upon the available credit--not the used credit. Even when your equity line has a zero balance, having a large equity line indicates a large potential payment.  This can make it difficult to qualify for other loans.
  3. An equity loan is not the same as an equity line.  When you get an equity loan you get all your money up front and make fixed payments until it is paid if full, based on the outstanding principal balance.  With an equity line you draw your money as you need it and are only charged for the interest on the amount used until the line matures and the principal becomes due.  Equity lines are most often accessed through a checkbook or a credit card
  4. Determine the lifecap on your equity line.  Some lines of credit have high lifetime cap rates. Be prepared to make payments at the highest potential rate.
  5. Shop around before taking a home equity loan from your bank. Many consumers get their equity line from the bank with which they have their checking account eventhough their bank may not offer the best rate and terms. By all means, consider your bank, but shop around before making a commitment.
  6. Get a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.   You must receive a written statement of fees associated with the transaction within three business days after the broker or lender receives your loan application. This is the law.  It’s also the best way to determine what you'll pay for your loan.
  7. Do not assume that your home-equity loan is fully tax-deductible.  Your home-equity loan may or may NOT be tax deductible.  Check with an accountant or CPA rather than depending on your mortgage company for information regarding this matter.
  8. Don’t assume that a home-equity loan is always cheaper than a car loan or a credit card.  Compare the effective rate of your home-equity line with the rate on your credit card or auto loan to determine if your home equity loan is cheaper than a credit card.

Effective rate = rate x (1 - tax bracket)

Example: The rate of the home-equity line is 7.50% percent.  Your tax bracket is 30%.   Your effective rate is:  .0750 x (1 - .3) = .0750 x .7 = .063 = 6.3%

If your credit card is higher than 6.3%, the equity loan is cheaper.

         9.    Check with your lender before you apply for a home equity line or loan.  Combined loan amounts (i.e., the first loan plus the second) are of great concern when refinancing the first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing your first loan, be sure to find out if getting a home equity loan or line will cause the refinance of your first mortgage to be denied.

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4.  When should we refinance?

Since every situation is different and no two homeowners are in the exact same situation, the answer to the question "Should I refinance?" is complex. Even the conventional wisdom of refinancing only when you can save 2% on your mortgage is not really true.  There are four favorite reasons to refinance:

·        Refinancing to save money

·        Refinancing to convert an adjustable rate loan to a fixed rate loan

·        Refinancing to consolidate debts and replace high-interest loans with a low-rate mortgage

·        Refinancing to pay of a balloon payment provision

Most often, people refinance to save money.  How do you accomplish this through refinancing?

  1. Find a lower interest rate that reduces your monthly mortgage payment.   OR,
  2. Reduce your loan term, thus saving money over the life of the loan. For example, refinancing from a 30-year loan to a 15-year loan might result in higher monthly payments, but the total of the payments made during the life of the loan can be reduced significantly.

The following calculation is more appropriate than the rule of 2% if you are refinancing to save money on your monthly payments:

  1. Calculate the total cost of the refinance––example: $2,000
  2. Calculate the monthly savings––example: $100/month
  3. Divide the result in 1 by the result in 2––in this case 2000/100 = 20 months. This shows the break-even time. If you plan to live in the house for longer than this period of time, it makes sense to refinance.

Another reason people often refinance is to convert their adjustable loan to a fixed loan. By doing so they obtain the stability and the security of a fixed loan. When rates are low, homeowners refinance to lock in low rates. When rates are high, homeowners prefer adjustable loans to obtain lower payments.

A third reason why homeowners refinance is to consolidate debts and replace high-interest loans with a low-rate mortgage. You may wish to consolidate second mortgages, credit lines, student loans, credit cards, etc. In many cases, debt consolidation results in tax savings, since consumer loans are not tax deductible, while a mortgage loan is tax deductible.

Should you find yourself stuck with a loan with a balloon provision, but with no conversion option -- you are forced to refinance. In this case it is best to refinance a few months before the balloon comes due.

Whatever you choose to do, consulting with a seasoned mortgage professional can often save you time and money. Make a few phone calls, check out a few web sites, crunch on a few calculators and spend some time to understand the options available to you.

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5.       What are points and must I pay them?  Tell me about Zero Point/ Zero Fee loans?

Points are the portion of the costs of a new loan and are usually represented as either an Origination Fee or Discount Fee.  Each “point” is equal to 1% of the loan amount.  So, if your estimate calls for you to pay 1 Point (Pt.) on a $150,000 loan, what that means is that you will pay $1,500 in points

The best way to decide whether you should pay points or not is to perform a break-even analysis. This is done as follows:

  1. Calculate the cost of the points. Example: 2 points on a $100,000 loan is $2,000.
  2. Calculate the monthly savings on the loan as a result of obtaining a lower interest rate. Example: $50 per month
  3. Divide the cost of the points by the monthly savings to come up with the number of months to break even. In the above example, this number is 40 months. If you plan to keep the house for longer than the break-even number of months, then it makes sense to pay points; otherwise it does not.
  4. The above calculation does not take into account the tax advantages of points. When you are buying a house the points you pay are tax-deductible, so you realize some savings immediately. On the other hand, when you get a lower payment, your tax deduction reduces! This makes it a little difficult to calculate the break-even time taking taxes into account. In the case of a purchase, taxes definitely reduce the break-even time. However, in the case of a refinance, the points are NOT tax-deductible, but have to be amortized over the life of the loan. This results in few tax benefits or none at all, so there is little or no effect on the time to break even.

If none of the above makes sense, use this simple rule of thumb: If you plan to stay in the house for less than 3 years, do not pay points. If you plan to stay in the house for more than 5 years, pay 1 to 2 points. If you plan to stay in the house for between 3 and 5 years, it does not make a significant difference whether you pay points or not!

Zero-Point/Zero-Fee Loans

You have a 30-year fixed loan at 7.5%. A loan officer calls you up and says they can refinance you to a rate of 7.0% with no points and no fees whatsoever.

What a dream come true! No appraisal fees, no title fees and not even any junk fees! Is this a deal too good to pass up? How can a bank and broker do this? Doesn't someone have to pay? Whose money is being used to pay these closing costs?

The way this works is based on rebate pricing, sometimes also known as yield-spread pricing, and sometimes known as a service-release premium. The basic idea is that you pay a higher rate in exchange for cash up front, which is then used to pay the closing costs. You will pay a higher monthly payment––so the money is really coming from future payments that you will make.  You rate may be substantially higher than if you had paid 1 point or more, but your closing costs will be covered by the “rebate” pricing.

You can also think of this as negative points! For example, a 30-year fixed loan may be available at a retail price of :
6.0% with 2 points or
6.25% with 1 point or
6.5% with 0 points or
6.75% with -1 point or
7% with -2 points

On a $200,000 loan, the loan officer can offer you 6.75% with a rebate of -1 point.  A mortgage broker can use rebate pricing to pay all or a portion of your closing costs and keep the balance of the rebate as profit.

What are the benefits of a zero-point/zero-fee loan?

The main benefit is that you have no out-of-pocket costs. As a result, if the rates drop in the future, you could refinance again even for a small drop in rates. So if you refinanced on the zero-point/zero-fee loan to get a rate of 6.75% and if the rates drop 1/2%, you can refinance again to 6.25%. On the other hand, if you refinanced by paying 1 point and got a rate of 6.25%, it may not make sense to refinance again. Now, if the rates drop another 1/2%, a zero-point/zero-fee loan can drop your rate to 5.75%, whereas if you paid points, you may have to do a break-even analysis to decide if refinancing will save you money.

The zero-point/zero-fee loan eliminates the need to do a break-even analysis since there is no up-front expense that needs to be recovered. It also is a great way to take advantage of falling rates.

Some consumers have used zero-point/zero-fee loans on adjustable loans to refinance their adjustables every year and pay a very low teaser rate.

What are the disadvantages of a zero-point/zero-fee loan?

The main disadvantage is that you are paying a higher rate than you would be paying if you had paid points and closing costs. If you keep the loan for long enough, you will pay more––since you have higher mortgage payments. In the scenario where you plan to stay in the house for more than 5 years, and if rates never drop for you to refinance, you could wind up paying more money. If, on the other hand, you plan to stay at a property for just 2-3 years, there really is no disadvantage of a zero-point/zero-fee loan.

Whose money is it?

Since you are being paid "cash up-front” in exchange for a higher rate, it really is your own money that will be paid in the future through higher payments. Investors who fund these loans hope that you will keep the loans for long enough to recoup their up-front investment. If you refinance the loans early, both the loan servicer and the investor could lose money. Be sure to ask about a pre-payment penalty though, since some lenders expect you to keep your zero-point/zero-fee loan for 2-3 years.

Zero-point/zero-fee loans in many cases are good deals. Make sure, however, that your loan amount is not increased to pay for your closing costs. Your points should be covered by the rebate yielded by the above market interest rate you’ll be paying. If your old loan amount was $150,000, your new loan amount should also be $150,000. You may have to come up with some money at closing for recurring costs (taxes, insurance, and interest), but you would have to pay for these whether you refinanced or not.

Zero-point/zero-fee loans are especially attractive when rates are declining or when you plan to sell your house in less than 2-3 years.

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6.  What does a credit score (FICO) tell the lender about me?

A FICO score is a method of determining the likelihood that credit users will pay their bills. Fair Isaac & Co., the original developers of credit scoring, began its pioneering work in the late 1950s. Since that time, scoring has become widely accepted by lenders as a reliable means of credit evaluation. A credit score attempts to condense a borrowers credit history into a single number. The Federal Trade Commission has ruled it to be acceptable that Fair, Isaac & Co. and the credit bureaus do not reveal how these scores are computed.

Credit scores are calculated by assigning points for different pieces of information which best predict future credit performance based on scoring models and mathematical tables. Developing these models involves studying how millions of people have used credit. Credit-bureau models are developed from information in consumer credit-bureau reports. Score-model developers find predictive factors in the data that have proven to indicate future credit performance.

Here are some commonly asked questions about consumer credit scores.

·                 Does every consumer have a credit score?

·                 How is the credit score calculated?

·                 How often does the credit score change?

·                 How do inquiries impact a credit score?

·                 How can the credit score improve?

·                 How can I increase my score?

·                 What if there is an error on my credit report?

Does every consumer have a credit score?
No. There are certain situations where a credit score cannot be calculated because one or more of the following has occurred:

·                 Your credit report does not contain at least one account

·                 A remark on one of your accounts references a person who is deceased

·                 The Social Security number on your credit report matches a Social Security number in the Social Security Administration’s “Death Claim Index”


How is the credit score calculated?
To calculate a score, numerical weights are placed on different aspects of your credit report and a mathematical formula is used to arrive at a final credit score. Credit Bureaus calculates your credit score based on many factors of your credit history and payment behavior. These many factors may include, but are not limited to:

·                 How you are paying your accounts

·                 How much money you currently owe

·                 How long your accounts have been open

·                 What different types of credit you use

·                 How much credit you use compared to the amount of credit you have available

·                 How often and how recently you have applied for credit

The credit industry uses various types of credit scores to assess risk for different types of credit. For example, a creditor may use one type of score when assessing risk for a credit card account, and another type of score when assessing risk for a mortgage account.

How often does the credit score change?
Credit files continually update with new information from creditors. Your credit score is calculated based on the information contained within your credit file at the time the credit score is calculated. Therefore, your credit score can change every time the information in your credit file changes.

How do inquiries impact a credit score?
An inquiry is recorded on your credit report every time you, one of your creditors, or a potential creditor obtains a copy of your credit report. A common misperception is that every inquiry decreases your credit score a certain number of points. This is not true. Typically, the presence of inquiries on your credit report has only a small impact on your credit score, while certain types of inquires have absolutely no impact on your credit score. Inquiries have less importance than delinquencies, balances owed, and the length of time you have used credit. Inquiries are usually more important on your credit score if you have a limited credit history.

How can the credit score improve?
First, you should review your credit report for accuracy. If you find any information that you believe to be incorrect you should contact the credit bureau reporting the incorrect information and/or your creditor(s) to dispute that information. The correction of inaccurate information on your credit report may have a positive effect on your credit score.

Second, maintaining a good credit standing and continuing to exhibit responsible credit behavior are the best ways to ensure you are presenting the most positive picture of your credit worthiness. Improving your credit standing and your credit score is not a one-time-fix; you must change how you view and handle your credit over time.

How can I increase my score? While it is difficult to increase your score over the short run, here are some tips to increase your score over a period of time.

What if there is an error on my credit report? If you see an error on your report, report it to the credit bureau. The three major bureaus in the U.S., Equifax (1-800-685-1111), Trans Union (1-800-916-8800) and Experian (1-888-397-3742) all have procedures for correcting information promptly. Alternatively, your mortgage company may help you correct this problem as well.

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